More Photographs, and Photographs of Photographs

If you scroll back a few pages, I recently posted some of the photographs I made in my recent travels in Indonesia.

This is still a work in progress.

In the end, these pictures will become a boxed edition – an artist book of sorts – much like this one.

Most of the pictures are made in Java, but a few are from Bali.

Originally, I gave the pictures the working title of The Writing on the Wall and Other Observations.

Many of the photographs are of photographs I found walking the streets.

And so, I’ve since decided to use the title of the last post and the working title for the pictures, Some Photographs, and Photographs of Photographs:  Sanur-Yogya-Jakarta, 2011.

As always with my pictures, I am interested in photographs as a material presence, and each photograph is a unique print and object itself.

The printing is an improvisation, involving various combinations of selenium, gold, and an assortment of teas.

Leave a Reply

