Returning

Pram_Nasional_22_Jul_1960_p3

So, I am pleased to announce that I just recently received a grant from the American Institute for Indonesian Studies.

images

With this grant, I will be able to return to Indonesia (Yogya, really), to continue my look into Indonesian photography.

1132525075

Among other things, I plan on doing some work at ISI Yogya, the art college in the city.

COLLECTIE_TROPENMUSEUM_Thilly_Weissenborn_met_haar_zus_Marie_Da_Paula_haar_broers_Oscar_en_Theo_en_anderen_aan_tafel_Nederlands-Indië_TMnr_60054000

I will also be going to Australia to participate in an opening at the National Gallery, an exhibition organized by Gael Newton about photography in Indonesia in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

111772-050-a39ef814

It took longer than I was anticipating to gather the funding for my return , and I was hoping for more, for a longer trip, but nonetheless, delighted to be returning.

7977573.0001.102-00000005-ic

I hope to make my research more active again, and to more truly develop a body of my own photographs about Indonesia.

idj009_k_cephas_91

Leave a Reply

