Culminations

I’ve been back from Indonesia for about 3 weeks now, and the momentum of my trip and discoveries seem to be leveling out.

penicandrarini_2

My projects and goals are defined, and now the work to put them all together will just take time, communication, and cooperation.

4-23-pak-harjito-smiling

And the other day, I had a nice opportunity to help conclude my recent work and adventures; I was again invited to join the Cornell Gamelan Ensemble for their spring concert.

front_gamelan3

It was a new repertoire for the group, highlighting some different vocal works and traditions.  We had some great visitors singing and performing with the group, Peni Candra Rini, Jessika Kenney, and Pak Harjito.

Sarad Offering in Bali

There was one moment in particular during the performance that seems worth mentioning.  It was early in the concert, the whole group was there together, and the groove and energy of the music were all in place.  I was aware of and connected to the spiritual and sublime qualities of playing music together, that meditative and beautiful core of gamelan.  It’s been about a year and a half since I last played gamelan; it was nice to find that feeling again.

It felt like a reminder of what I have going in Indonesia, the personal importance of pursuing this work and these discoveries.

IMG_0339_1

And I took one more step, to fully wrap up my experience, to symbolize its importance in my life.

saraswati_tattoo

I got another tattoo.  Saraswati, the Hindu goddess of knowledge and creativity.  I think of the tattoo as something like a Balinese offering, to acknowledge and help sustain the success of my projects in Indonesia.

And then I’ve been obsessed with this song by the Jogja Hiphop Foundation.

 

Leave a Reply

